Blog Post 7: La Playa Valenciana && Kapital!

 

If Toledo was my first escape from Madrid since I’ve arrived here, Valencia was my first real weekend trip jam packed with sightseeing, the beach, walking and fantastic company.

For about 100€ each, the five of us were able to travel to and from the coastal city, we were able to sleep two nights and we were able to eat and enjoy the many attractions of the city.

I do firmly believe that three days is not enough for Valencia, as we did not spend too much time in the city centre, but we did see most of what we needed to see and it was beautiful.  We visited the centre, the Museum of Sciences, the aquarium and the rest of the Ciudad de las Ciencias (from the outside), the huge park and, of course, the beach.

Interesting fact about Valencia.  A huge river used to flow throughout the city, but since it was causing floods and more grief than good for the Valencians, they decided to let the river dry up and they instead turned the entire area into a huge park full of palm trees, playgrounds and walking and bike paths.  Truly an innovative idea and probably the best of what Valencia has to offer.  Take a look:

Of course, probably the city’s main attraction is the ‘Ciudad de las Ciencias’ comprising of an aquarium, a museum and much more.  Even looking at it from the outside is pretty stunning.

And the museum is cheap and totally worth it.

Box of shadows ^^^

Of course, the city centre had some pretty impressive displays of Spanish architecture, but it’s interesting to note that Valencia is a much more quiet city than Madrid, and it was evident while roaming the downtown core late at night that the vibe and crazy atmosphere just isn’t the same, but hey, it’s a smaller town and nothing can probably match up to Madrid’s nightlife.

On the Saturday, we all went to the beach! Valencia is known as ‘Madrid’s beach’, and it makes sense why.  I’m pretty sure that, being a short four-hour bus ride away, that Valencia’s beach is the closest one from Madrid, and it has to be one of the most beautiful beaches I’ve ever seen! The weather on Saturday was perfect for the beach, the water was pretty warm, the sand was soft and warm and the sun was hot but not too hot.  Perfect!

I would go back to that beach anyday!

Coinciding with this trip to Valencia was my first ever stay in an Airbnb.  For 123€, the five of us stayed in a small apartment about half an hour from the city centre and half an hour from the beach by foot (seeing as both were in opposite directions we were right in the middle of both).  Not a bad price, and our host was very friendly when we met her.  She didn’t live there and she showed us around.  Now, I’m kind of disappointed because the internet ad had said there would be wifi in the apartment and that there were four beds.  Upon arriving, we saw there were only three beds (2 double, one single) and no wifi, so I went all weekend without wifi (AND I WAS DYINGGGG).  When we went back to the apartment Sunday at our agreed-upon meeting time with the host to return the keys, she wasn’t there and didn’t show up, so we dropped our keys in her mailbox and ran off to catch the bus, which we made by the skin of our teeth.  Our host later messaged us saying that she completely forgot about meeting us… I’m unimpressed!

Regardless, the flat was nice and had a table and all the kitchen equipment we needed to prepare a good meal, which is exactly what we did on Saturday night to save us the trouble of buying an expensive meal in the downtown.  For 8€ each, we bought enough groceries for two breakfasts, a lunch and a dinner, and the dinner we made was quite delicious! I made my favorite broccoli recipe and it was a hit!

Of course, no trip to Valencia is complete without Paella Valenciana! Unfortunately this one came in a plate and not a pan, but it was delicious nonetheless!

And the brownie dessert of course!

All in all a fantastic weekend and my first of many weekend trips, I am sure.  Where will I go next? I don’t know yet, but student organizations in Madrid are organizing many trips throughout October so surely I’ll go and experience much more of what Spain has to offer.  I can’t wait to go to Barcelona either!

In other news, I’ve settled in quite well to life in Madrid, I’d say, and cooking meals is actually becoming a pretty fun pass-time.  I made some delicious steaks last week that I’d say were perfectly seasoned, and I even tried my hand at crispy potatoes, which I’d say turned out pretty good!

Furthermore, I went to the hottest club in Madrid, probably the hottest one in most of Europe, and even though I’ve never been one for clubbing back in Montreal, I must say this was an experience that I will never forget and a club I will return to often throughout the year.  Kapital is simply amazing, and to think I showed up past midnight and left there at 5 AM.  It was a Thursday night, and I got to bed that night at 6 AM, only to wake up three hours later for my 9 oclock class…  Needless to say it was amazing.  This was not just any ordinary club, this was a show.  Samo and I went to the first row right in front of the stage and just hung there for over three hours.  The music was amazing and there was a person playing the trombone and another playing the electric violin, and they were just amazing!  There was even an acrobatics show with some acrobats dancing on a ball hanging from the ceiling.

My pictures aren’t professional, but understandably it was very difficult to get good pictures among the chaos and the thousands of people there.  Kapital has 7 floors and each floor features a different attraction so there’s something there for everyone.

Finally, I need to talk about school, briefly.  There isn’t as much homework here as I’d get in Montreal, which is obviously for the better like that.  I’m getting my work done but there’s so many distractions it’s just a lot more difficult here to remain focused than it is for me surrounded by my family in Montreal.  Needless to say, I am managing, luckily the workload is less intense (other than in one class where we have to read a ridiculous amount…)

So happy to have made such amazing friends here in Madrid and I had an amazing Valencia trip with you all!

 

Leave a comment