Blog Post 22.1: Harry Potter!!

This post won’t really be a travel post, per se, since, let’s face it, it will simply chronicle one place and one place only: the Harry Potter studios in Watford, England, just north of London.

Yes, I have told many people about my trip to this amazing location, and every single person I’ve told was supremely jealous.  Obviously I don’t want to make people jealous, in fact coming here is probably not something I would have done on my own, since apparently it cost far upwards of $100 CAD, however due to my sister’s incessant nagging toward my mother, my mom finally caved and booked us all a trip to probably one of the coolest places you could visit.

If you’ve read the books and/or watched the movies, everything you can see inside the studios is a dream come true to you.  Just to make a list of the sets I was able to walk into:

  • Hagrid’s hut
  • Olivander’s

IMG_4821.JPG

  • Dumbledore’s office
  • The Great Hall (featuring the sorting hat)
  • Number 4, Privet drive (including going inside!)
  • The Gryffindor common room and dormitory

IMG_4731

  • The Burrow (the model was destroyed in the sixth movie, but I saw the inside)

IMG_4752(1)

  • Umbridge’s office

IMG_4757

  • The Knight Bus

IMG_4772

  • The Hogwarts Bridge
  • Snape’s potions’ class
  • 12 Grimmauld Place

IMG_4778

 

But that’s not all, these studios featured a lot more, most of these in the form of props:

  • Everyone’s wand

IMG_4732

  • The Goblet of Fire

IMG_4744

  • The Triwizard Cup and the golden egg from the second task

IMG_4743.JPG

  • The Philospher’s Stone

IMG_4745.JPG

  • The Weasleys’ flying car

IMG_4781

  • Quidditch!

IMG_4751

  • The 7 Horcruxes

IMG_4753

 

  • Dementors

IMG_4759

  • Wizard money

IMG_4768

  • The marauder’s map

IMG_4770.JPG

  • The chess pieces from the first book/movie
  • All the mythical creatures, such as Aragog, Dobby, Hedwig, Buckbeak (who actually bowed!) the dragons, and even a mechanical version of Hagrid’s head

And all these were great, but there were some sets for me that just, well let’s say they stuck out, let’s see if you can recognize any of them:

Indeed, behold:

  • The Hogwarts Express
  • Diagon Alley
  • And, of course, the Hogwarts castle itself, one of the most amazing things I’ve ever seen

Truly, truly an amazing experience, I would recommend a visit to this amazing place to anybody considering themselves to be a Harry Potter fanatic, such as myself.  Every little aspect of the book and movies is featured at these studios, even Butterbeer and Butterbeer ice cream, and it really makes you appreciate all the hard work that goes into crafting such an amazing movie series, especially by all the behind-the-scenes people.

The castle, I must insist, was one of the most amazing things I have ever seen!

Leave a comment